Short Story Contest


Welcome to the Innisfil ideaLAB & Library’s Short Story Contest

Have you ever dreamed of becoming an author or publishing a book? Whether you’re a writing pro or just looking to see what you can do, now is your chance! if you’re in Grades 3-12 you’re invited to enter the Innisfil ideaLAB & Library’s annual Short Story Contest.

Haunted Canada author, Joel Sutherland is this year’s judge. Not only will he read your story, but he’ll be at the awards ceremony to celebrate the winners!  There are fantastic prizes to be won! Winners receive plaques, gift cards, and printed anthologies of the winning stories. The best overall story will also win the Seepe Walters Award, a $500 grand prize. 

So what are you waiting for?  Enter now!   


Deadline: Monday, October 28, 2019, at midnight

Are there page limits? Yes! 

Grades 3-6 (junior division):
Minimum 1 page (250 words), maximum of 4 pages (1000 words)

Grades 7-8 (intermediate division):
Minimum 2 pages (500 words), maximum of 8 pages (2000 words)

Grades 9-12 (senior division):
Minimum 3 pages (750 words), maximum of 12 pages (3000 words)

Are there specific rules? Yes!

  • Original fiction only, please
  • Type your story in 12-point font
  • Submit your story electronically as a Microsoft Word (.doc or .docx) or Open Office (.odt) document using the webform below (No PDFs please)
  • Do not include your name on any of the pages of your story (this information is collected through the entry form)

Please note: if you are having difficulties submitting your story using the form below, please email it instead to Please ensure that the body of the email includes all the information required by the form below, including your acknowledgment of the content’s rules, and that your story is attached in one of the following formats: .doc, .docx, or .odt (open office).

Ready to enter?
Fill out the form below, upload your story and hit submit! It’s that easy. Good luck!

*Please confirm the spelling of your name as this is how it will appear for prizing.

How do I know if I’ve won? 
Five finalists from each category will be notified in December. Due to the large number of entries we receive, only winners will be notified. Whether or not your story wins a prize this year, you are still a winner for having the courage to put your story out into the world. Keep being brave, keep believing in yourself, and keep writing! We look forward to reading more of your work!

Let’s Celebrate! 
The award ceremony will be held on Friday, January 24, 2020, at 6:00 p.m. at the Lakeshore branch. The winner of the Seepe Walters Award will be announced at the ceremony.

Go on, take a look! You’ll be amazed at the talent and creativity you’ll find here.

2018 Seepe Walters Anthology
2017 Seepe Walters Anthology
2016 Seepe Walters Anthology
2015 Seepe Walters Anthology
2014 Seepe Walters Anthology
2013 Seepe Walters Anthology
2012 Seepe Walters Anthology
2011 Seepe Walters Anthology
2010 Seepe Walters Anthology
2009 Seepe Walters Anthology
2008 Seepe Walters Anthology.